Hatsune Miku Project DIVA F (PS3/Vita)

ahchurro11

PSLS Level: Bronze
(I am new to the whole reviewing scene so I hope I do this well. Any comments will be appreciated. )

Hatsune Miku Project DIVA F - The vocaloids' stage show in the Western world

Hatsune Miku is the walking definition of a virtual star. Her video game line up on PSP and PS3 have been some successful and addicting games in the rhythm genre, and now the West has a taste of the rhythm action. Some might overlook the game either because of its graphical style or the very concept of it. But there is a difference between seeing a game and actually playing it.

Hatsune Miku Project DIVA F consists of about 3 major modes: Rhythm Game, DIVA Room, and Edit Mode. There are also some minor modes such as a photo mode and records that will be explained later.

Rhythm Mode is the major part of the game and the place where you will most likely spend your time in. As per standard with most rhythm games, there are 4 difficulties for each song, with 38 songs in the game (6 being DLC for the Vita). Now normally a rhythm game having only 38 would be a bad thing in most rhythm games, but I don't mind it in this case. The reason for that is because each song has not only a custom video to play in the background, plus an accompanying costume, or module, to go with it. You can even change the costumes or add accessories to either fit with the song or completely go against the song's tone. Each difficulty also feels different enough to warrant playing through each one at least once. You unlock songs by playing previously unlocked songs and unlock the next difficulty of a song by playing the previously unlocked difficulty, with normal and easy being unlocked for each song by default. This is the only real major issue I have with this mode. Whether or not it is for newcomers or for padding, but it is a dumb decision to lock out higher difficulties, especially for veterans of the game.