Cinematic Games

stolenxnametag

PSLS Level: Kraken
PSLS Ambassador
I remember when I got a Sega CD for Christmas one year with a Power Rangers game and a few others like it. Those games pissed me off, because it was like watching an episode of Power Rangers and doing a few button mashes to make sure the show continued as you remembered.

Fast forward to 2013. Telltale Games had some great successes below their belt with the Walking Dead games, but I never gave them a shot. Why? Because I hate the tv show, and I didn't want to relive my Power Rangers rage from childhood.

So I started playing Beyond: Two Souls. BTS was like a mashup of gameplay and pure cinematic games for me, mostly because I used my phone and tablet as the controllers. I honestly just wanted to watch the story unfold for this poor girl and her invisible friend. After experiencing that, I'm considering the idea of scoping out other cinematic experiences. Does anyone have a suggestion? I'm open to anything, even The Walking Dead.

Metal Gear Solid? There is a lot of gameplay, sure, but it is truly an impressive and cinematic game series.

Metal Gear Solid? There is a lot of gameplay, sure, but it is truly an impressive and cinematic game series.
I've played MGS and MGSV:GZ so far. The series seems worthy of play, but the latest Video Game Collective episode may have talked me out of it. I don't want 2, 3, and 4 to make me hate The Phantom Pain when it comes out. :-D

I absolutely despise the TWD television series and I still like Telltale's game. Unfortunately the game does suffer from being too overly "cinematic" and to be honest, it's also a bit full of itself. It's a shame, Telltale's previous adventure games were not as linear, but TWD seems to be insanely popular.